Quotes From Books

June 20, 2010 at 5:48 am (From the Book Shelf) (, , , , , , )


I love quotes. I’ve been collecting them for a long time and recently I came across a notebook from about 7 years ago with a collection of quotes from books I was reading at the time.

  • “Hearts do not break, they are only bent and mutilated.” -From Cassandra by Kerry Green.
  • “If the world comes to an end while I’m asleep, just leave a note.” – From Eye of the Daemon by Camille Bacon-Smith.
  • “I heard the chief of police three times today, claiming they expected a big break in the case any time now. You know what dat means. They ain’t got a clue what’s happening.” – From A Modern Magician by Robert Weinberg.
  • “Would you get out of here you twittering numbskull and let me get on with saving your life?” – From Socerer’s Ward by Barbara Hambly.

It is interesting to see that the books I was reading then still have a very special place on my shelf and these four books are ones I have re-read incessantly.

What are some of your favourite lines from books?  Which authors do you find yourself quoting most often?

10 Comments

  1. Books blog » Blog Archive » Quotes From Books « Cassandra Jade in the Realm said,

    [...] post by Cassandra Jade and software by Elliott [...]

  2. Agatha82 said,

    “I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by”
    from Douglas Adams – Not a quote from one of his books, but a personal one he always said that always amused me
    “I’m Gentleman Death in silk and lace, come to put out the candles. The canker in the rose.” from Anne Rice – The Vampire Lestat. To me, that sentence defines how Lestat feels about what he is and defines the role of the deadly vampire (though there is more than one of version of the vampire, there are many…)
    “There was something about the eyes that Thom easily recognized for they had looked at him all his life, reflected in a mirror.”
    from James Herbert – Once. Part of a very touching paragraph when the main character finds a pencil portrait of his father who he never met and has died.
    I tend to read Herbert the most, he’s my favourite writer, next to Douglas Adams. Two very different kinds of writers.

  3. AlexJ said,

    I don’t digest books the same way I digest movies, so no quotes come to mind.

  4. Jemi Fraser said,

    The 2nd quote had me just about snorting out my tea :) Love it!

  5. AlexJ said,

    Looking forward to your Movie Dirty Dozen on Monday!

    And Jemi, drink tea, don’t snort!

  6. Casey Lybrand said,

    I like your quotes! I also like the Adams quote about deadlines. I can relate.

    I’m not in the habit of collecting quotes from novels, but I have been thinking a lot about phrases from poems I have read (and reread and reread), and how they stay with me and shape my experience of the world. (I’m working on a post related to that topic right now, actually. And maybe I’ll make a list sometime soon.) So that’s not from books (not novels, at least).

    And here’s a quote that’s really speaking to me right now – so much so that I have it memorized, so much so that I have a story percolating up from it and its related concepts (something ~cyberpunk, I’m sure):

    “On the one hand information wants to be expensive, because it’s so valuable. The right information in the right place just changes your life. On the other hand, information wants to be free, because the cost of getting it out is getting lower and lower all the time. So you have these two fighting against each other.”

    Stewart Brand, in the Whole Earth Review, May 1985 (transcription of remarks at the first Hacker’s Conference in 1984)

    Hmmm, also not from a book.

    Note to self: Quotes from Books, yourdoinitwrong.

    (Sorry, Cassandra!)

  7. Lists of Topics and Readings, with Assorted Footnotes and Rampant Italics Abuse « Casey Lybrand said,

    [...] related to item #2, above. I was already thinking about this (and working on item #2) when I read this post at Cassandra Jade’s blog about quotes from novels [b]. The post from item #2 will be about [...]

  8. Michelle Gregory said,

    amazing how many movies i haven’t ever heard of.

  9. catwoods said,

    I’ve never quoted from a novel that I know of. For some reason non-fiction holds that place.

    Your quotes are wonderful–especially the one about the heart bending not breaking. I’ll have to share that with my Dear Daughter. Thanks for sharing them.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

