Reflections on the Week That Was

November 8, 2009 at 4:01 am (Weekly Review) (, )


This week I began my new blog and finally moved on from all the setbacks I’ve encountered this year.  It has been an exciting start.  With K.M. Weiland sharing an excerpt from “Behold the Dawn” as well as her trailer.  I was also able to share Sherrilyn Kenyon’s trailer for her new book, “Born of Fire“.

Below are some of my other posts and some great reads from other blogs.  If you have any other articles that caught your eye this week, let me know.

This Week’s Recommendation

If you haven’t already read this you should check out The Quentin Tarantino Guide to Creating Killer Content by Sean Platt.  Fantastically informative and if you happen to be a Tarantino fan, a great walk down some of your favourite moments in his films.

Poll – Opinions Wanted

I’ve launched a poll to find out who other writers overcome writer’s block and I’m looking forward to sharing the results in a few weeks so I’m hoping people take the time and share their thoughts.

My Blog Posts

Finding Time Vs Making Time – Sometimes finding time to write can be really tricky.

The Coming Storm – Why building to a climax that never happens is probably not a good idea.

Remember that Character – Why does one character stay with a reader while another fades into obscurity?

Great Advice

Livia Blackburne had a guest blog by Amitha Knight – Writing Lessons From Gossip Girl

Michelle Kerns shared her list of The 20 Most Annoying Book Reviewer Cliches and How To Use Them All In One Meaningless Review – a very entertaining read.

Meredith Woerner gave us Roland Emmerich’s 8 Rules For Ending the World.

Steve Martile suggested 2 Tricks That Help Overcome Procrastination – useful given my current lapse into procrastination.

Elizabeth Spann Craig gives some thoughtful advice for When Our Characters Drink.

Jenny Rae Rappaport poses the question To Sequel or Not To Sequel.

Rajeeve Edmonds asks Is Perfectionism Killing Your Blog – though I suspect in my case the answer is no.

6 Comments

  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Thanks for the great links…and the link to my blog, too. I’ll tweet these…

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • cassandrajade said,

      Elizabeth, the problem was figuring out which of your posts to list. Too many good pieces of advice. Thanks for the tweet and the visit.

  2. Carol Kilgore said,

    I’m so happy to learn you’re blogging again. I’ve missed your posts.

    • cassandrajade said,

      Thanks, I’m glad I’m back up and going again too. I’ve missed reading everybody else’s advice and some of the great conversations.

  3. Livia said,

    Thanks for linking to me. I’m glad you found it useful. 🙂

Comments are closed.

