Small Details

November 12, 2009 at 5:08 am (Planning, Thoughts on Writing) (, , , )


Recently I was told a story about The Large Hadron Collider – you know, the thing everyone claimed would create a big bang or destroy the world or something equally ridiculous.  If only it were actually that interesting.  Anyway, I was told that it had suffered yet another set back when a bird dropped a bit of bread or something into it and it over heated.  Billions of dollars spent on the thing and they can’t seem to make it work or even do anything that is overly useful, and it can be stalled by a bird dropping bread.

Now, I wasn’t sure if this story was true or not.  I mean, who builds something that big and expensive and then doesn’t protect it from things being randomly dropped in it by wildlife?  So I did what any person in the 21st Century would do.  I googled it.  Not sure if googled needs a capital but it will be fine either way.  I finally found a blog on this most recent incident (most of the articles found were from previous failures and not related to the bird incident).  The article was called “Baguette Dropped From Bird’s Beak Shuts Down The Large Hadron Collider (Really)“.  The really actually was part of the title.

So the story was true, and the lesson it teaches is equally true.  It doesn’t matter how big something is, or how impressive, it is the small details that make or break it.  True in building particle accelerators, true in writing stories.    Now I don’t know that a bird has ever dropped a baguette into one of my plot outlines but maybe it could be a metaphor for all the things that do get in the works and manage to stop a story dead in its tracks.  What do you think?

6 Comments

  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Good point!

    Sometimes I use the “what if” game when a baguette has dropped into my WIP. It helps me think of different ways out of the box.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I love playing the “what if” game. Unfortunately sometimes my curiosity then leads me onto a google quest that consumes the rest of the day and I forget what my original problem was. I would suggest investing in a tarp for all WIP’s except that without anything unexpected or unplanned going on I doubt the end result will be half as interesting. Thanks for the comment.

  2. levimontgomery said,

    Almost completely beside the point, but you know me: I use Google to refer to the entity that is trying to stick its finger in every pie on Earth, and google to refer to the process of trying to pull plums from said pies.

    Glad to see you back, speaking of “on Earth.” Where’ve you been, Mars? 🙂

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Just sick and then recovering, then desperately behind on my day job. You know how it goes. I finally managed to get things more or less together though I am still super busy. Glad to see you again. I haven’t caught up with you on twitter yet. Are you still using it?

  3. bwlight said,

    My answer to your whole last paragraph, the whole analogy: “Exactly.”

    Now, off I go to pick out the pieces of baguette…

    (BTW great blog & thanks for visiting mine!)

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks for the comment and I look forward to reading more of your blog.

Comments are closed.

