Reflections On the Week That Was 2

November 15, 2009 at 4:43 am (Weekly Review) ()


Week two of my blog and I am very much appreciating all the support and comments that have come my way.  I will be closing the writing block poll today and be writing a post about it soon, though the number of votes doesn’t give me a huge amount of information to consider.  Once again I’ve compiled a list of links to my posts and to posts I’ve read during the week that I thought were really helpful, really interest, really fun or a bit of all three.  Feel free to recommed other posts that should be included.

This Week’s Recommendation

Rachelle Gardner explains How Book Royalties Work and this is a very interesting read.  I definitely recommend checking this post out.

My Posts This Week

Laconic Characters – why is it so hard for me to express character without dialogue?

Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover – Thinking about how difficult it must be to design cover art.

Small Details – They can unravel even the biggest things.

Writing Lessons From Reading Ann Bishop – Three things I learned by reading the ‘Dark Jewels’ Trilogy.

I’m Not Procrastinating But… – So many hours in a day, so many distractions from editing.

Other Posts of Interest

Ilana DeBare discusses the difficulty in rewriting in Revise and Resent.

Writer’s Block Is BS bygirlbythesea12 I found particularly interesting as I am going to be writing a post on writer’s block soon and have been listening to a lot of different opinions on the subject recently.

Alexandra Alter shares how many well known authors have accomplished writing their novels in How To Write A Great Novel.

Writer’s Relief Staff shared thoughts on how to choose a critique partner.

Peter Bowerman discusses Seven Steps to a More Compelling, Engaging and Readable Book.

Kathytemean gives us Ten Tips To Outline Your Way to a Better Novel.

Gail Tycer was very informative about Prepositions.

Elizabeth Spann Craig explains What Bad Writing Can Teach Us About Good Writing.

This one very nearly became my recommendation for the week.  It is on screen writing but good dialogue is good dialogue.  Check out Gideon’s post, In Too Deep – Deepen Your Dialogue.

9 Comments

  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Thanks for the great link round-up, Cassandra! And thanks for linking to mine, too…

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Once again Elizabeth, it is a matter of knowing which of your posts to link to. Far too many good ones to choose from.

  2. NA Sharpe said,

    I love these posts with links to so many great blogs – it gets difficult sometimes in finding them all. I especially love finding new favorites. Thanks!

    Nancy, from Realms of Thought

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I do this as much for me as well because later on I’ll remember reading a great post but won’t be able to find it. This way I put all the links in one place. Thanks for the visit.

  3. corra said,

    I love the week rap-up (wrap-up?). Great idea for a blog. 🙂

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I think wrap but it doesn’t make much sense.
      Thanks for visiting.

  4. corra said,

    Cassandra–

    I’ve just started a ‘weekend wrap-up’ category at my blog based on this idea. I can’t imagine you’ll care as all my thoughts and links will be different, but as a professional courtesy I wanted to let you know I’m doing something similar and allow you the opportunity to object if it bothers you:

    http://writary.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/weekend-wrap-up-november-16-2009/

    I think it’s an excellent way to keep organized! Then if folks come in a week or two late to a posting, they know they can hop to the ‘weekend wrap-up’ category to get the highlights.

    With respect,
    corra

  5. weekend wrap-up – november 16, 2009 « journal of an unpublished writer said,

    […] wrap-up – november 16, 2009 Cassandra Jade at Cassandra Jade in the Realm includes a Reflections on the Week That Was post in her blog, in which she wraps up her thoughts and lists links of interest for that […]

Comments are closed.

