Reflections on the Week that Was 4

November 29, 2009 at 4:52 am (Weekly Review) (, )


It has been an incredibly busy week but I have learnt so much.  This is the fourth week of my new blog and I was overwhelmed by the number of people who have stopped by to check it out.  Now if only I can inspire them to leave a comment I’ll be right on track.

Earlier in the week I asked for writers who wanted to share their thoughts on what writing is.  I have had some response and I’m grateful to those people who have decided to give this a go but if there is anyone else who would like to join in, please get in touch.

That said, I have some links for the week.

Recommended Read:

This one is not going to be popular with a lot of people but it is worth reading.  Nick Reitz gives us 6 reasons why Twilight sucks (and yes it is biased but he makes some very good points).

In case you missed my blog posts this week:

This week I shared some writing lessons I learned from reading Pratchett. As I’ve now looked at two of my favourite authors in this way, I think this may start to be a theme but I’m not promising anything.

Having discussed my reasons why books are better than movies previously, I decided to turn it around.  Here are ten reasons why movies are better than books.

False alarms are never good, but I can see how they might serve a purpose in writing.

Creating believable characters is hard, particularly when they work so hard at being enigmas.  I wonder why my character is unstable.

Some interesting links for writers:

Jane Kennedy Sutton asks whether you go for the new read or the reread.

Wired Writer’s Blog explains how magic needs to be real when writing fantasy.

Elizabeth Spann Craig shares writing tips from reading fairy tales.

Sylvia Morice gives us 5 ways to stimulate our creativity.

Cait London shares her tips on creating characters with depth.

Nicole Jordan asks if you are heroine material.

Well that is it for another week but if you have a blog, or you have read one, in the last week that you think should be on the list, feel free to add it in the comments.

7 Comments

  1. Corra McFeydon said,

    Great links. I love that Twilight one!!

    Thanks for posting. 🙂

  2. Nick said,

    Thanks for including my link to the 6 Reasons Twilight Sucks! It was great to see that someone else found it to be as hilarious as I did. How long have you been blogging?

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      This blog is new – only one month old – but my previous one ran for about six months until I came down with the flu. When I started up again I decided to try wordpress instead of blogger and I’m staying here now. Thanks for the visit and thanks for the great post.

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Great links, Cassandra! And thanks for plugging my blog. 🙂 Hope you’ve had a great weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  4. Margot Kinberg said,

    Thanks for these helpful links, Cassandra! I’m looking forward to really getting to know your blog 🙂

  5. Cam said,

    To expand upon Twilight:

    British guy reading, reacting to and explaining Twilight chapter by chapter. Pretty funny, but I’m a sucker for the accent.

Comments are closed.

