Who wears these shoes?

December 7, 2009 at 5:06 am (Thoughts on Writing) (, , )


I love shopping.  It always makes me think about people and gives me plenty of chances to watch them and borrow ideas for later characters.  Recently I was in a shoe shop and I found this incredible pair of shoes and I wondered what kind of a person would buy them.

These shoes were bright green.  They had wooden soles and heels (thin, stiletto, nearly ten centimetres high – I think that is like three inches or something around that).  They were closed toe but had dark green stitching across the toes and around the ankle.  Personally I thought they were amazing but I would never wear them.  To start with they wouldn’t go with any of my clothes and they aren’t practical for me.

So I wondered what kind of person was going to buy these shoes?  If that person were a character in a story, who would they be?

Given the price of the shoes they were either going to be well off or have saved for months to buy the shoes.  I decided to go with the practical decision and made them the saver.  Having worked hard for weeks, constantly coming by the store to ensure the shoes were still there, how would they enter on the day when they finally had enough?  What would they be wearing?  Would they be smiles and happiness because they were finally buying their shoes or would they walk in meekly, trying not to count their chickens in case today they were told the shoes were no longer in the store?  So many questions and so many things to think about.

So what do you think?  Who is going to wear those shoes?

10 Comments

  1. Fiona Skye said,

    I would absolutely wear them and I have the perfect dress for them to go with, too! I am a shoe…erm…aficionado. (I was going to use a less polite word, but I thought I’d behave.)

    But, if we’re going with your saver idea, I think she would march triumphantly into the store, dressed in a LBD – little black dress – that was paired with emerald earrings, necklace and bracelet. She’d buy those shoes, slip them on, and then go promptly out to the opera. It’s a blind date, you see, and she’s hoping for a handsome doctor or lawyer or something. What she ends up with, however, is a computer programmer. It’s not all bad because he adores the opera and compliments her on her shoes.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I like that scenario and points for detail (I love the emerald earrings). Thanks for your comment.

  2. cherrydec said,

    I am not a shoe shopper. Nor a dress shopper. If I get a little spare money, it would be books I would be buying. But, I imagine that the person who is going to buy a green shoe like that will have to be somebody who could waste money and not be bothered about it. Because from a practical, non-shoe-buyer’s point of view like me, that shoes is a non-essential item. So to spend ones money on it, you gotta have plenty to spare or you really, really like it. Like, you like it more than having dinner. So instead of having dinner, you go without and buy the shoe. That’s how much you like it. Some people has that kind of priority. So, the one who buys that shoe is a girl who is slightly insane and with money… 🙂

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    I would love to see the girl who fits the shoes! A fashionista, for sure. 🙂

    Nice exercise, by the way.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  4. kelseyparks said,

    That is a very interesting question. I guess I would have to say, an excessive spender who has the money to burn. If they don’t have a dress to match the shoes then, they will when they are done shopping. Most people like to buy shoes to match their outfits unless, of course, you have the money to do otherwise. Some people have an addiction to shoes and have their own little collection.

    But let’s say I pick the girl who saves her money. She obviously wants them if she’s saving her money but for what? Does she have a dress to go with the shoes? Does she need them for a costume or maybe even a gift? Or maybe she also loves to buy shoes but has to save her pennies to build a collection? Who knows? There are a lot more questions to fill for the one who saves her money than the girl whos has the money to buy them. My opinion is biased, as I am not a shopper nor would I ever wear shoes like that. (I’ll stick to my converse)

    My final answer would be the excessive spender with money.

    Though, I won’t lie, I would love see someone wearing those shoes – as long as it’s not me.

  5. Cassandra Jade said,

    Some interesting answers. I love how most of the responses are from people who don’t like shoes. I have to point out all of my shoes are black because that means I can wear them with anything. But I always looks at these brightly coloured shoes and wish I was impractical enough to buy them. Still, I always try to figure out which of my characters might wear such a pair of shoes. Thanks for your responses.

  6. ryan4143 said,

    This is an excellent writing exercise because there are so many paths you could take when determining who would buy the shoes. It could be a rich, pampered girl buying them to show off to all of the boys at school, or it could be a man buying them for his daughter who is poor and doesn’t have much. The possibilities are nearly endless. They don’t say ideas are a dime a dozen for nothing (unfortunately it’s often the good ideas which turn into great works that are often not in such abundant supply).

    I’d probably go with the idea of a girl who doesn’t have much but saves up to buy the shoes for her little sister for Christmas. The reason being because it can lead to a decent story about a family in poverty and a little, innocent girl trying to do something kind for her younger sibling. To add a little conflict, even, a richer girl who sees the poorer girl going to buy the shoes might cut across her path and take them for herself just to be spiteful. This could lead to the moral lesson in the end that “it’s the thought that counts” and “love is the greatest gift of all” or something else to that effect and could even go farther beyond that to encompass an even wider array of topics, maybe about the girl growing up and how she gets by in the world or something else.

    This is one of the reasons I absolutely love writing: from little ideas like “who would buy these shoes” entire stories can spring when we least expect it. Thanks for sharing this. It’s a good exercise to get the creative juices flowing smoothly again.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks for your comment. I hadn’t even considered her buying them for someone else. I do love that stories can go so many ways – it keeps you constantly asking questions, even ones you have already asked.

  7. Carol Kilgore said,

    I love shoes. I think the woman who wears these would be vibrant, outgoing, not afraid to speak her mind. Maybe a little bit of a temper. Able to manage her money well. And maybe a little on the iffy side where and how she gets all her cash.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      The word iffy is fantastic. The person wearing those shoes would have to be outgoing and I like your take on her. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.

