Reading Challenge

December 9, 2009 at 5:00 am (100+ Reading, Feature) (, , )


Tam from Bailey’s and Books posted about how they were going to take part in the 100+ Reading  Challenge for 2010.  Following the links I found the original site.  J. Kaye has issued the 100+ Reading Challenge for 2010 and I have foolishly signed myself up.  I am not hugely optimistic of my chances but I signed up for a few reasons.

My first reason is simple.  I have well over a hundred books lying around waiting to be read.  Many of them have been waiting for nearly all of this year while others are more recent acquisitions.  This might actually get me reading through some new material.

The second reason is that I think it is going to be a really fun challenge.  I love reading and too often I find other things to do.  Admittedly a lot of my reading time is now taken up by writing, or by reading blogs, but I love reading books and this will help me to make more time for it.

Finally, I like challenges.  I like meeting them.  I like overcoming obstacles and making things work.  I also like there not being actual consequences should I fail.  It will be a challenge, but a safe one where if I meet it I get satisfaction, if I don’t, well there is next year.

So, are you going to take the challenge?

22 Comments

  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    I would *love* to work more reading into my schedule, but I don’t see it happening this year. I’m still reading every day, but not at the same pace…

    Sounds like a cool challenge, though!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I know that I’m probably not going to make it but I’m gonig to give it a go. At the very least I’ll read more than I have been and that is a good thing.

  2. J. Kaye said,

    Welcome to 100+ Reading Challenge. I am so glad you have decided to join us in the fun. 2010 is going to be a great year in reading. I can just feel it!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks, it is a great challenge and I’m glad you put this out there.

  3. Margot Kinberg said,

    I admire you, Cassandra, for joining that challenge! I’m not planning to because, like Elizabeth, my hectic life just doesn’t allow that much reading (although I do read every day). Go to it and I wish you well!

  4. kelseyparks said,

    I’ve done something like this before and I loved it but with all of the other challenges I’m doing . . . I guess I can attempt it on top of everything else I’m doing. It sounds like fun. If I don’t make 100 books at least I know I’ve finished most of the books I have my shelf. Maybe I’ll learn to balance my schedule a little better.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Sounds good. Wishing you luck with the challenge. Hopefully you will be more successful than I think I will be.

  5. K.M. Weiland said,

    For the last ten years or so, I’ve regularly cracked the 100 mark in my yearly reading. I think last year was the best I’ve ever done at 120. But my crazy life this year has cut into my reading time. I’m going to be lucky to hit 100 by the end of the month.

  6. Jonathan Danz said,

    A contest that encourages even more reading?! I’m in. I never counted how many books I’ve read in a year, but I’d be surprised if I approached 100. If I include the books I read to my 3 year old, then maybe. There’s no harm in trying. Thanks for the post!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I like that – I should count books I read to my niece (do they count if I read the same book five times in a row?). Thanks for the comment and good luck with the challenge.

  7. J.C said,

    Good luck with the challenge! I don’t think there is any way I could read 100 books in a year, and certainly not next year, but its a very worthy goal. Maybe the year after I’ll give it a go!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I’ve thought it through and over the next week I’m going to spend some time putting together a tentative reading schedule. Then I am probably going to promptly ignore it until the end of next year. I’ll see how it goes.

  8. reading habits « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator) said,

    […] sword & sorcery — by Barb @ 9:00 am Tags: reading Cassandra accepted the challenge of 100 readings. I considered it, but I won’t. I equally divide my time between writing and reading (and the […]

  9. Noel said,

    I think the challenge is good for those that may have slipped away from regularly reading books but I think finding a balance like the above poster mentioned is what’s best for me.

  10. jmartinlibrarian said,

    Girl, sign me up…I read well over 100 books a year. Granted, some of those books aren’t very long, but a book’s a book. 😉

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      How many pages does a book have to have to count? Wishing you luck.

  11. Fiona Skye said,

    I signed up. I’m so grateful that text books and books from other challenges count! Otherwise, I’d be in BIG TROUBLE!

  12. Corra McFeydon said,

    That’s a book every three to four days!!

    My goodness, I wouldn’t possibly have the time. But this is inspiring me to look for a challenge and get my TBR pile down a bit.

    Thanks for sharing, and good luck!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      It doesn’t sound like so many if you just say 100. A book every three days sounds difficult.
      Good luck with your reading.

  13. nancycg56 said,

    I’m really looking forward to the challenge ~ good luck to us!

  14. Corra McFeydon said,

    A hand-made trackback since I can’t figure out how to do it the auto way. 🙂

    I linked this article at my blog:


    from the desk of a writer

Comments are closed.

