Reflections on the Week That Was 6

December 13, 2009 at 5:13 am (Weekly Review) (, , )


Hard to believe this is the end of week six on the new blog.  This week has been an unbelievable roller coaster for me and I know that the next few weeks are going to be quite a handful.  I will be taking a short break in the first week of January when I am moving houses and will not have internet access.  This break may extend to two or so weeks depending on how long it takes to get reconnected to the world.  I will not be abandoning this blog and hopefully I can get some public internet access to do a few posts during this transitional period.

Onto this week.  So many great posts to choose from.

Recommended Read for the Week:

Sandy Ackers from Strangling My Muse shared a brilliant post this week with ten ways to get your muse out of neutral.  I found this post very helpful.

My Posts:

I started this week by asking which character would wear these shoes (and I got some very interesting responses).

5 reasons for typing your draft – though there are arguments for handwriting.

I joined the 100+ Reading Challenge.  Hopefully my to be read list (at least the beginning of it) will go up next week. If not, it will go up the week after.

From my call to writers I have put together a three part series called writing is and the first and second parts have already been posted (and they were fantastic, thanks to the writers who contributed).  Part three will be posted tomorrow.

Other Great Writing Posts:

Elizabeth Spann Craig makes the list again with her post on writing according to mood.  She made it tough this week as her post on being careful was a very close second.

Brandilyn Collins had a guest post from Steven James called Things look bad? Make them worse, which was a fantastic read.

Sevvy asks whether you are a whiny writer or an arrogant writer.   A good read.

Editorial anonymous reads into rejections.  This is a very amusing post.

Sylvia Dickey Smith shares some thoughts on writing dialogue.

K.M. Weiland discusses why writers should write in more than one genre.

Margot Kinberg writes about the use of coincidence in stories.  This post has inspired some very interesting comments and is well worth the read.

As always, if you have found a great blog post you want added to the list, let me know or leave a link in the comments and certainly send me suggestions throughout the week for the next list.  Thanks.

10 Comments

  1. a.m.harte said,

    Hello! Here I am, and you were right – your post is an easy way to come across a wide range of writing posts to read. Ideal for the lazy person like me. 😉

    I liked the writing by mood article. I’d already read the one on rejection, but I had to re-read it because of how good it was. And the one about inspiration was good, too.

    So thanks! Very useful post. And, as you can guess, I don’t have any good links to share just yet.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I tweet most of these during the week but as I can’t remember all the great posts I visit – and I’m unlikely to re-read my own tweets – I like to finish the week by putting them all in one place. Thanks for visiting and I’m glad you found the links useful.

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Thanks, Casssandra–for the plug and for the links to check out!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  3. Paul Greci said,

    I’m hoping to read 100 books this next year too. My reading has fallen off a bit since I’ve been writing full-time. When I was teaching I devoured books in search of ones that my students would connect with. Thanks for the list of links!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Strange – most of the books I read this year were ones my students said I had to read (explains why I read all four books in the twilight series).

  4. Corra McFeydon said,

    Some great links, Cassandra. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. Stacy Post said,

    Congrats on your blog award, Cassandra! Thanks for checking out my blog too! Good luck with your move. I hope the transition is a smooth one. Best!

  6. Galen Kindley said,

    Moving can be both fun and stressful. I hope your move is of the fun variety. We’ll miss you while you’re “off air,” and look forward to your return.

    Best Regards, Galen.

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

  7. Cassandra Jade said,

    Thanks Galen and Stacy – I’m trying to sort out internet connection before I move but I don’t think it is going to be fully sorted in time.

  8. Sandy Ackers said,

    Thanks for the shout out, Cassandra — I’m glad you liked my post! And thanks for all the other interesting links you’ve shared here. Best of luck with your move.

Comments are closed.

