Writing Is – 3/3

December 14, 2009 at 4:55 am (Writing Is) (, , , , )


This is the third and final post in the series – which is a shame because I’ve really enjoyed reading some of these responses.  Today I have three more writers sharing their thoughts on writing.  Given the positive feedback from this series I will have to think of a new question to ask writers for sometime next year and run another series similar to this.  If you have any suggestions as to what you would like writers to discuss let me know either in the comments or via email.

Tirza Goodwin said:

Writing is mine.   Writing can’t be stolen, destroyed, warped.  Sure, the world can tear up the pages, erase the words, but the writing never stops in my head.  Like some Phoenix, it rises up from my charred ashes, over and over, each time a bit brighter.   Writing is my sanity on those blue days, those hazy crazy days when I’m drowning in my own oily thoughts.

When I was a child, my soul was murdered.  It was strangled, slow so I could feel it.  I couldn’t breathe inside my own skin.  Like Frankenstein’s Monster, I was flesh without animation.  And then the words came like lightning.  And I was alive, so alive.
Writing is me, electrified.

But I know I’m still poisoned.  My head is too full of things I can’t think of, won’t think of.  Writing lets me bleed it out.   Bleed out that the world isn’t fair, love is conditional, hate is eternal, and pain feeds on itself like fire.   I burn.

Writing is my cure.  It makes the world right again, me whole again.   It paints my black skies blue as sapphires.  It lets me love with a heart unafraid of scars.   To forgive even though I’m still bleeding from a thousand wounds.  I rise, once again, my wings spread wide in flight.

I survive.

I live.

I write.

Tirzah Goodwin

From Corra McFeydon:

Writing is a window into the mind.

We’re permitted into the music of the soul when we read, and when we write that music is conveyed to the reader in the strategic placement of letters mixed and weaved into words. Some choose to share their voice in story, others in poetry, but always that unique perspective is imbedded into the paper or screen like a thumbprint forever marking its owner.

Writing is the ability to communicate with people we may never meet in life. To transfer our deepest, most secret thoughts to willing minds centuries after we’ve passed away. It’s an imprint of culture, a reminder of the past, an outcry, a revolution, a still, silent voice, a story. We travel as far as the imagination can take us as writers, and we accomplish things we might never have the courage or opportunity to accomplish in life through literature and poetry.

Writing is a journey to the stars, a safari in Africa, a cruise through Europe, a trip to the future, a retreat into yesterday. It’s an expression of our emotions, conveyed in a medium the entire world can receive.

Writing has the potential to melt away the wall that surrounds each of us, so that for an infinitesimal second, we live one another’s adventures as one soul united, one mind, one imagination, one body terrified and joyous and universally alive.

Corra McFeydon is a writer who longs to be an author.  You can visit her on her blog, From the Desk Of A Writer.

Finally, from Fiona Skye:

Writing is all-consuming.    My story insinuates itself into every aspect of my life.  When I’m writing (and really, that’s practically all the time), I sleep and eat and dream and shower with my story in my head.  My family gets bored of hearing about it every time I see them.  My children’s eyes glaze over when I launch into another recap of my day’s work.  I’m banned from speaking about the story when I have friends over for dinner.

Writing is also voyeuristic.  I often find myself listening to conversations and making notes when I hear a particular phrase I like.  I study people at Target and Trader Joe’s (and probably scare them half to death) because I want to remember someone’s walk or the way they flip their hair over their shoulders as they’re leaning forward to look more closely at something on a shelf.  I watch the way lovers kiss and touch because it fascinates me the way people interact and the expressions on their faces and their body language tell me more about themselves than their words ever could.

But most of all, writing is a necessity.  I need to write like I need to breathe.  I need to form worlds in my head and give birth to them on paper.  I need to give the people living inside my brain a face, a name, a existence, a life.  Writing is absolutely necessary to my mental well-being.  If I don’t write, if I don’t let the characters in my head out, I honestly think I’d go just a little mad.  Of course, anyone who writes is just a little mad to begin with, aren’t we?

Fiona Skye is the nom de plume of an Edinburgh-born author, who is slightly obsessed with Gummis, coloured pencils, photography, and otters.  She is currently at work on A Murder of Crowes, a vampire story with a twist.  Visit her blog (http://fionaskye.wordpress.com) to follow her on her Writing Odyssey, as she finishes her manuscript and journeys to get it published.

Thanks again to all the writers who contributed to the series.

15 Comments

  1. Fiona Skye said,

    This was an absolutely brilliant series, Cassandra. Thank you so much for allowing me the privilege to contribute my thoughts on this topic. I’ve been allowed a peek into my fellow writer’s minds – and have found that we’re really not that different from one another. While reading everyone’s answers to your question, I’ve found myself nodding and agreeing with everything. I find it amazing that we all write – it seems – for the same reasons.

    I’m very much looking forward to the next series, and I’d like to contribute again, too!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks again for your contribution – I loved reading the responses to this question.

  2. What is writing? « The Writing Odyssey said,

    […] afforded the chance to write a short essay on the topic of what writing is. It’s featured here. Go check it out and while you’re there, be sure to read the rest of Cassandra’s blog. […]

  3. Barb said,

    I will comment this series with an entry on my blog this week, but I’ve been thinking about another call for writers, and as you mention wanting to do another next year, I’ll leave it to you again.
    My question would have been “how I write” meaning both the technical how (handwriting/typing, laptop/desktop/notebook etc) and the mental how (outlines or not, improvising or not, where to get ideas, etc) – not sure if it’s clear what I mean… but I’m sure you can find a better way of phrasing it!
    Better go checking those other writers blogs… thank you for having me in this series and most of all… keep writing!
    Barb

    • Barb said,

      p.s. forgot the “where” (office/room/cafe)…

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks for the suggestion – I think that is a really good idea for a series. And thanks for your contribution to this series.

  4. Tirzah said,

    I loved reading the series as well.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks – and thanks for your contribution. It was a great read.

  5. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    I’ve really enjoyed this series, Cassandra! Thanks for running it.

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks for following this series – it was really a lot of fun hearing from different writers. Thanks also for the award (Blogging Writer Award).

  6. writing is… my comment « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator) said,

    […] I must thank Cassandra for her series of post on “writing is” (part 1, part 2 and part 3) and not only for allowing me to try to figure out what it is for me, but also for allowing other […]

  7. Corra McFeydon said,

    I’ll echo the others: a wonderful series, and I was honored to participate.

    Thanks for organizing this, Cassandra!

    Reading through each segment was a true pleasure. How alike we all are, and how different. 🙂

  8. Mickey Mills said,

    Writers are my favorite people… especially when they are talking about writing.

    I can find anything to disagree with here. It does go back to what I said; write because you love it. One of my favorite quotes by a writer is:

    There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein. ~Walter Wellesley “Red” Smith

    Thanks everyone for sharing.

  9. sapphireangelkj said,

    Have you actually got something you’re working on at the moment Cassandra?

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Always – mostly rewrites for Death’s Daughter but I have two other works in progress’ – both of which are starting to look like I’m going to move away from because even though I have drafts I’m not happy with where they are going. Despite claiming I wasn’t going to do new writing until after the move I have just started another project and so far I’m happy with how it is going but we’ll see.

Comments are closed.

