Happy New (Writing) Year

January 1, 2010 at 5:25 am (100+ Reading, Work In Progress) (, , , , , )


Very short post today.

We are finally in 2010.

That means I am really starting the 100+ Reading Challenge.  I have my first book ready to go. Given I know that I’m going to fall short of this challenge I am hoping that I can at least pretend that I might make the target for a few weeks.  It might make me feel better about the whole thing.

As far as writing, I am just going to wait until after the move and then I am going to finally start a new project for real (not just dabble in bits and pieces like I have been in between editing) and I am going to fix an old draft that has been lying around for a year now.  I think I finally figured out how to fix it.  Throw half the characters out of the story, refocus on the character who is actually most interesting, and stop trying to give equal space to all the subplots.  After I rewrite the entire thing with that in mind I’ll see how it goes but I think it will have to be better.

Things to read, things to write, houses to move.  Busy, busy, busy.  Here is hoping for a fun and productive year for myself and for everyone else.  Best of luck in 2010.

15 Comments

  1. Jane Kennedy Sutton said,

    Good luck with your admirable goals.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Jemi Fraser said,

    Sure sounds busy!! Good luck with the move – that’s always a lot of work. I’d love to join the 100 book challenge, but there’s just no way (anymore) I could do it. Unless I can figure out a way to create a few more hours in the days 🙂

  3. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    I’m so impressed with your reading goal! I wish I could make time to read that much. You’ll have a great year with books!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  4. survivalguru said,

    Happy New Year to you, I have written my first book and it was posted on Amazon.com the 23rd of December which was my goal last year. I am currently writing my 2nd book and I can tell you I relate so well to you with editing. Re-reading my chapters are difficult not only because you tend to see the mistakes but because my book is very personal and close to my heart. I wish you luck in the coming year, setting goals for ourselves is a good thing.

  5. Corra McFeydon said,

    Your reading goal far surpasses mine. Very best of luck with it – and with your writing. 🙂

  6. Cassandra Jade said,

    Thanks all for the support. I haven’t made a good start on my reading goal yet but I think on the new project front I have something. I started writing a new outline yesterday and today I am ready to get into some serious planning.

  7. desireediaz said,

    Happy new year and good luck with your goals!

  8. Carol Kilgore said,

    Have a wonderful and exciting 2010, Cassandra.

  9. kimberlyloomis said,

    Happy New Year and good luck on your reading and writing goals (especially amidst your move)! Any particular books on that read 100+ list?

  10. Cassandra Jade said,

    Thanks desireediaz and Carol.
    Kimberly – currently I have 8 books left out from my packing to get me started on the read 100+ and I have at least 100 books in my to be read piles that have been packed away. How many of them get looked at and how many new books I buy this year is anyone’s guess.

    • dystophil said,

      I can so relate to the huge TBR pile. It’s so nice to have your own library, isn’t it? Just ordered 11 books from amazon and am going to hang out at my favorite used book shop tomorrow too. Joy 😀

    • kimberlyloomis said,

      I have the same dilemma. I have finally gotten myself to use the local libraries more frequently so I don’t add books to my bookshelves’ already heavy burden. The poor things look overwhelmed (and messy). Of course that didn’t stop me from going to the bookstore earlier this week. Or Amazon two weeks before that.

      Good luck! Will you posting the titles of books that blew you away?

      • Cassandra Jade said,

        Should there be any though the first book I started didn’t get very far.

  11. J. Kaye said,

    Happy New Year! May this year be the best of the best. 🙂

  12. dystophil said,

    Good luck with the reading and writing goals. I totally second your goals, because I’ll have a lot of reading and writing to do this year as well – and I’m absolutely stoked about it. Can’t wait to finish this draft of my current novel and can’t wait to read all these great books in my TBR pile – while ordering and buying new ones. Have a great New Year!

Comments are closed.

