Reflections on the Week That Was 9

January 3, 2010 at 5:16 am (Author Info, Weekly Review) (, , , , , )


This week has obviously been a week for reflection, what with the new year and all.  Most of the blogs I read have been focused on reflections and goals for the future.  There are some really great links in the list below but as usual, I can’t read everything so if you have a link or know of one that should be on the list, add it in the comments.  It’s all about sharing.

A quick note about the blog.  I am moving over the next few days but expect to be online sometime later in the week though I won’t be posting a new blog post until at least Jan 9.  Have a great week and I look forward to catching up with everyone once I sort out my internet.

Recommended Read:

Not so much a read as a watch – Juliet Boyd shares these videos on the changing technology and the importance of being connected. Well worth a watch.

For a read, K.M. Weiland on Word Play shares 11 Killer Chapter Breaks.

My Posts this Week:

Stuck in the Middle – Why I used to hate writing the middle of the story.

Happy New Writing Year – Looking into 2010 and my goals for the year.

Best ’09 – Reflections on 2009.

Repeat/Repeat – Yes I am back to editing and I am finding that I use too many of the same words too often.  Fortunately I’m not alone in this.

Characters are like Onions – Why not take writing advice from Shrek, though I prefer Lord Farquaad.

Writing Lessons From Reading Katharine Kerr – Another fantasy author who I’ve learnt a lot from.  The next writing lesson post I do will have to be a non-fantasy author just to change things around a bit.

Questions for Writers – I said last year that I was going to have another call for writers in February.  This poll was helping me decide what question I was going to ask them to answer.  I was going to close the poll today but I think I’ll give it another week so please let me know what you think.

Other Links for Writers:

Fabrica Scribendi asks her readers what their favourite read of 09 was and suggests some of her favourites.

Creative Barbwire also took on the Best of 09 challenge and gave us her reflections on the year gone by.

K.M. Weiland again but on Author Culture shares ten ways to find more time to write.

Elizabeth Spann Craig gives us 14 Reasons Why Libraries are Writers’ Best Friends – I only really needed one, they have books.

Corra McFeydon shares links with some excellent reading challenges in 2010.

Lovely Lace shares a writing exercise in which you make a personal universe deck – it must be the teacher in me but I thought it was an excellent idea.

Okay not a writing one but it does have to do with story telling.  Monkey Rule discusses why Avatar does not fail at story telling.

Also, slightly shameless plug for a friend, Levi Montgomery has released Jillian’s Gold.  As an early reader of this story I absolutely recommend it but you can read the first 16 pages for yourself.

10 Comments

  1. K.M. Weiland said,

    Thanks for the link!

  2. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Thanks for the links..and the plug. 🙂

    Good luck with your move!

    Elizabeth
    Mystery Writing is Murder

  3. Jemi Fraser said,

    Great links – I’ve checked out a few, but I’ll peek at the rest! Have fun with the move 🙂

  4. survivalguru said,

    I believe sharing is the most important thing, we all have a connection when writing our blogs no matter what they are. I have two my other is http://essenceofnone.wordpress.com

    that is the most touching one I have. Its a story about me. the book was written in 2009 and published and now I am in the 4th chapter of the 2nd book.

    thanks again for your lovely words.

  5. Lovely Lace said,

    Thanks for putting me in there! Hope your move isn’t too stressful.

  6. Levi Montgomery said,

    Hey, thanks for the pluggery! Much appreciated.
    Levi

  7. Carol Kilgore said,

    We moved last January, so I know what you’re going through. Hope all goes smoothly.

  8. jmartinlibrarian said,

    Yousa got some good thinks about writing, yes you do!

    Thanks. 😉

  9. Corra McFeydon said,

    Thanks for the mention – as well as all the links! Appreciated. 🙂

    I know you’re moving, so whenever you’re back in the game, I left you an award at my blog:

    One Lovely Blog Award

    Have fun with the move! 🙂

    ~ Corra

Comments are closed.

