Reflections on the Week That Was 11

January 17, 2010 at 5:45 am (Weekly Review) (, , , , , , , , , , )


Another week bites the dust and this one happened to be my last week of vacation from my teaching job.  I didn’t get very much in the way of writing done these holidays but I think I settled myself nicely and sorted out most of my loose ends so once the school term is underway and I’m settled into that I should be in a good position to really focus on writing for a while.  We’ll see what life has in store for me.

That said, I have been writing.  Little introductions, character information pages, setting descriptions, short action sequences, I even have four typed pages of discussions that take place between two characters because I was unsure how the two characters would interact.  I just haven’t been able to focus enough to sit and write a draft.

This week I got back into the blog after the move and caught up with many other blogs so here are the links for the week.

Recommended Read:

Cat Woods – The Best Writing Tips Ever – she shares the advice she has been given and encourages others to leave theirs.

My Posts For The Week:

Writing High Fantasy – I realised that despite writing fantasy I haven’t posted much about it.  Next week I’m going to have a post on world building.

Call For Writers 2 – Once again I am asking for guest bloggers, this time to answer a specific question as chosen by the people who responded to the poll.  “Which novel element is most important to you and why?” If you would like to take part in this series, please read the post and send me your response.  I look forward to reading them.

Avatar – Having read three thousand different posts either praising or berating Avatar I threw my opinion out there and have now moved on.

Writing Lessons from Reading R.L. Stine – Another in the writing lessons series.

Why so serious? – I look at humorous characters and ask for advice on creating them.

Books Don’t Come With a Soundtrack – Examining why voice is so important to hook your reader and to create believable scenes.

Other Posts on Writing:

Don’t Quit The Day Job – Looks at how traffic jams can be useful to you as a writer.

Jodi Cleghorn deals with rejection.

David Hewson discusses the use of violence in writing.

Atsiko’s Chimney features Urban Fantasy as their Genre of the Week.

Crystal Clear Proofing looks at using colons in sentences and provides some great examples.

Margot Kinberg considers what makes someone a victim.

Carole Kilgore looks at sounds and how they can be used in writing.

Elizabeth Spann Craig – What we bring to the table, examining how there may not be any new stories but there are new ways of telling them.

I hope you all have a great week and if you have any other posts from this week that should have been included on the list please add them in the comments.

8 Comments

  1. twaddleoranything said,

    A great round-up of links, as always! Good luck getting back into the writing groove!

  2. Corra McFeydon said,

    Thanks for the great links, Cassandra. I really appreciate the time you put in to making this blog useful a good source for writers. 🙂

    This is just a quick note to let you know I left you an award at my blog:

    from the desk of a writer

    All the very best,
    Corra 🙂

  3. Jemi Fraser said,

    Thanks for all of the links 🙂

  4. Corra McFeydon said,

    Blimey, I am the typo queen. Even when I edit it needs editing. (Rolling my eyes.)

    🙂

  5. Paul Greci said,

    Thanks for the great list of links. I hope your transition back to teaching goes smoothly and that you are able to work some writing time into your schedule.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I think I am the queen of carving up my time into useable chunks, I just need to give myself a little bit of time to settle into a routine though.

  6. catwoods said,

    Thank you so much for the kind words and the mention. The thing I like about that post is that my cyber buddies wrote it. I think it gives the writing tips far more weight.

    I do enjoy the pertinent links you put on your blog, as I enjoy finding unexpected gems–without all the hard work.

    Enjoy your return to school and make sure you give yourself permission to write. Best~ cat

Comments are closed.

