5 Things I Love About Writing

January 23, 2010 at 5:36 am (Thoughts on Writing) (, )


Just a short post today.

1. The zone – that place I go to when I’m really on a roll and the story is just unfolding around me and my fingers are flying over the keyboard and it all feels just right.

2. Reading something that I wrote awhile ago, maybe years, and just laughing at a really great moment that I had forgotten about.

3. Getting to know some very interesting characters and managing to help them through some of their trials and tribulations while heaping even more upon them.

4. Knowing that if something isn’t working today it will probably work itself out tomorrow and even if it doesn’t, I’ll think of something else.

5. The sense of accomplishment that comes when it all comes together.

What do you love about writing?

21 Comments

  1. Sapphira said,

    The way the words just flow out of my pen

  2. Fiona Skye said,

    When The Man laughs out loud at something I’ve written.

    The way I know I’ve connected with a reader when they say something like, “I totally get what your character is going through and I would have done the same thing in that situation.”

    When I make a reader hungry, thirsty, able to see, hear, smell or feel something I’ve described.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Hearing the thoughts of someone who has read the writing is definitely a high.

  3. Siggy said,

    There are all kinds of things I love about writing: getting it right. The only right I knew. Sometimes it was figuring out the solution to a problem, which I only could by writing. I instinctively knew what genre to use. Whether it would be a letter, essay or poem. I love capturing humorous moments and then making people laugh when I recited the piece(usually a poem) in public. I used to be terrified of public speaking.

    My keeping a journal was an important step in my development as a person and writer. I needed somewhere to go. My writing was a way to reach out to others and find a common bond. I love making pictures with my poetry having someone right there with me seeing what I saw. I love making connections with others. We are far more alike than different I found out. There are so many things I love about writing–making the invisible visible to me and others..

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Finding solutions to problems is another great suggestion – thanks for the comment.

  4. Michelle said,

    Getting to know the characters is number one. Followed closely by letting someone read it and having them laugh or cry or whatever–when that is what I intended. Not so good if they laugh when you want them to cry though.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Worse if they groan when they are supposed to be laughing.

  5. andrewhayett said,

    I would say that what I enjoy the most about writing is the ability to enter a totally different world which would not otherwise exist. Writing fiction is the thing that I enjoy the most. It’s a wonderful career to pursue. You also kind of become friends with your characters.
    There are also some perks: being able to read your character’s minds sort of feels like a special ability. I don’t know, that’s just what I think.
    The satisfaction is a plus. When people are piqued to read my novel, that always makes my day, no matter how bad other everyday things might have turned out. It’s a great sense of accomplishment.

  6. Jemi Fraser said,

    I agree with these! Happy times 🙂

  7. AlexJ said,

    A lot of what you already stated. I like seeing a scene come together on paper. I also like seeing a story turn out the way I want it to!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I definitely like it when things turn out the way I want them to and it works. That is a great feeling.

  8. barbaraannwright said,

    I second what Fiona said and add, When I write THE END. ^_^

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I don’t think I’ve ever actually written THE END at the end of any of my stories. I do get that happy ‘it’s finished’ feeling for all of ten minutes before I realise how much editing is still to be done.

  9. Carol J. Garvin said,

    There are probably as many different answers to this as there are writers! Why I write fiction is not the same as why I write non-fiction, so even that evokes two different responses. I love writing fiction for the ability to create characters who have never existed, visit places I’ve never been, solve problems and live lives that are not my own and yet are a part of me. I love writing non-fiction because it lets me give a new perspective to ordinary situations and facts, making them more interesting than they originally seemed. I love the writing process itself for the sense of fulfillment I experience, and the joy of knowing I’m doing what God intends me to be doing at this point in my life.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Thanks for the comment and the non-faction perspective.

  10. vvdenman said,

    I’m happiest when I’m writing daily. Probably because I get away from the real world and escape to make-believe land. Writing helps me keep life in perspective.

    Also, I’m one of those people who thinks of the perfect thing to say . . . after everyone else has gone home from the party. But when I write, my characters always have the perfect comeback.

    And when I’m talking I sometimes stick my foot in my mouth. Things just don’t come out the way I plan them. Often, people think I mean one thing when I actually mean something completely different. I love writing because I can revise until I get it just right and I’m sure people will understand my point.

    Writing is so much better than talking. For me, anyway.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I do love that with writing you can keep changing things until they are right – you aren’t stuck with the first things that falls out of your mouth.

  11. tsuchigari said,

    I love writing as a form of escapism. For that short hour in the morning I can enter another world and make interesting things happen. Creating something new and exciting gives me a lift throughout the day.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      That is a great way of looking at it. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Corra McFeydon said,

    I love the escapism, the act of creating, the challenge, the art, the comraderie with other writers (and the shared interest), the outlet for my emotions, the adventure.

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

Comments are closed.

