Reflections on the Week That Was 12

January 24, 2010 at 5:20 am (Weekly Review) (, , , , , , , )


Another week and this one has been hectic.  It could have been less hectic if I developed even a single little bit of common sense but clearly I lack the facility for it. See, I went back to work this week. Which means I have lessons to plan and resources to find and all manner of things to prepare and suddenly, I am struck by pure and brilliant inspiration to write  not the story I planned but the story I should have been planning.

That said, my work is more or less under control, and I’ve been working in time slots of writing after my set work is done for the day and my draft is rolling along nicely. I think I’m going to need to trim some of the dialogue from the first few chapters. Today I wrote an entire page of pretty much just dialogue and I’m pretty sure it isn’t needed. But the story is working and moving forward and the characters feel right and so I’m going with it.

So, my blog reading this week has been a bit hit and miss but here are some links that I’ve found.

Recommended Read For the Week

Little Scribbler – 5 Ways to Make Time for Writing – something I definitely needed to remind myself of recently.

My Posts for the Week

5 things I love about Writing – Given the enormous amount of time writing is taking right now I figured I’d remind myself why I love it so much and let it take over at times.

Merton, is that your name? – I’ve been writing but some of my characters have been a bit difficult and at the moment the name of one individual is really starting to be a pain.

Ghosts are my least favourite plot device – I love ghosts and I love ghosts in stories, I use ghosts in stories, I just find them annoying when the entire plot hinges on a character coming back from the dead to explain the plot.

Tension through forced inactivity – Creating tension for yourself and characters.

Building Better Worlds – Looking at world building particularly for fantasy.

Quote Collections – Looking at why so many writers collect quotes.

Other Posts on Writing

Cat Woods – I’ll take one agent with a side of fries – some great advice on research to do before looking for an agent.

One Writer’s Journey – Sharing 7 More Tips on writing.

Broadsheet – Publisher Whitens Another heroine of Colour – really interesting discussion about trends in publishing and cover art.

Elspeth Antonelli – Finding your characters’ voices in the story.

Editorrent – Calls in a Medic to fix a sentence.

Okay if you have a link you think should be added to the list, please add it with your comment but please make sure the link works and it is going to a writing blog. Thanks and I hope you find some of these useful.

10 Comments

  1. Little Scribbler said,

    Thanks for making me the Recommended Reading For the Week!

    I too was struck by some inspiration this week. A short story. I’ve just got to get around to writing it.

    I forgot you were a teacher. What do you teach? High school or primary?

  2. survivalguru said,

    Yeah good time management, you are organized I can see, Me too. I wrote more in my 2nd book today, had been a while. I am now on Chapter 6 and had thoughts of how I was going to finish this book. Keep up the great work.

  3. Jemi Fraser said,

    Glad to hear your story is coming along nicely! Thanks for the links 🙂

  4. AlexJ said,

    I’d just finished final edits on my book and eliminated some dialogue. Just some unnecessary stuff. There were other areas where I added, though – mostly to explain something better.

  5. Elspeth Antonelli said,

    Thanks so much for including one of my posts. I’m off to check out your other recommendations.

  6. Tweets that mention Reflections on the Week That Was 12 « Cassandra Jade in the Realm -- Topsy.com said,

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by darkened_jade, Chris Brett and Cindy Springsteen, Cindy Springsteen. Cindy Springsteen said: RT @cbrett60: RT @darkened_jade: New blog post – Links for writers: https://cassandrajade.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/reflections-12/ […]

  7. Paul Greci said,

    Thanks for list of links. It sounds like your story is coming along nicely. I hope you have a productive writing week!!

  8. Tooty Nolan said,

    How do you find the time to discover all these fabulously informative sites? You’re a mine of information.

  9. RapidGamerx said,

    Hey, I normally don’t leave comments but I just thought I’d let you know that this blog is great. I write too, but I can’t
    write as well as you do. Here are some of my writings. If you want to look at them, if not it’s ok. anyway, thanks.

    Stihl Chainsaws
    Husqvarna
    Morocco Blogs

  10. Corra McFeydon said,

    Thanks for sharing these links! Always appreciated. 🙂

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

Comments are closed.

