Reflections on the Week that was 13

January 31, 2010 at 5:27 am (Weekly Review) (, , , , , , , , , )


Another fun week down. Not a lot done on the writing front this week but enough. I spent some time getting to know my new protagonist again. I already relocated her story from a complete fantasy world to a slight variation of reality and have since given her multiple character adjustments. The most recent is going to require a complete renovation of everything I’ve already written. I gave her a sister. Too much internal dialogue was just dragging the story and I decided she needed someone who knew her well to converse with and to help move things along at times. Also, just someone who would tell her outright when she was being a pain in the neck. Oh well. The story itself is still working really well and I’m more or less pleased with the supporting cast although I may have to tweak the villain a little more. I think they are playing it far too safe at the moment.

Anyway, I actually did read quite a few blogs this week and I am pleased to share some of my favourites with you though just reminding everyone that the Novel Elements Series is going to begin on February 15 and if you would like to participate I really need your response by February 10.

Recommended Read For The Week

Laura Renegar – Confessions of an Exclamation Mark Abuser – Too funny and it makes an excellent point.

My Posts for the Week

The Hero’s Journey and Other Things – Some fantasy books don’t involve a journey.

Thinking Outside the Box – Finding ways to write about things you may not know, experience or think.

Sleep Deprived Characters – Using sleep deprivation as a plot device and just being aware that characters occasionally need to sleep.

Writing Lessons From Reading Traci Harding – One of my all-time favourite authors and the lessons I have learnt from reading her work.

Sunrise or Sunset – When do you hang someone?

5 Ways to Gain Inspiration While Shopping – Plus a few suggestions from other writers who have also taken advantage of shopping times to brain storm.

Other Posts on Writing

Dee Scribe – Turn your writing upside down – create the unexpected.

Conan the Grammarian – Affect vs effect.

Kathryn Apel – Creating Believable Fantasy Worlds

Elizabeth Spann Craig – Where do your ideas come from?

Michelle Locke – 10 Ways to be a better writer.

Jody Hedlund – Does blogging really help sell books?

Plus – Just for fun and nothing really to do with writing.

Twitter Twouble

In a dire situation?

7 Comments

  1. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Great links, as usual, Cassandra! I’m adding some of these blogs to my Google reader. And thanks for the plug for my blog, too. 🙂

    Elizabeth

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      As usual, Elizabeth, my problem was choosing just one of your posts to link to for the week. Thanks for continually sharing such great advice.

  2. lawrenceez said,

    Sounds very interesting, especially the post on sleep deprived characters. Lack of sleep does all sorts of things to people.

    All the best with your writing,

    lawrenceez

  3. AlexJ said,

    Thanks for the links.
    And sounds like the sister character will be good for the story!

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Hopefully. I think my protagonist needed some balance and hopefully the sister will add that.

  4. Corra McFeydon said,

    Thanks for all the great links!

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

Comments are closed.

