How did Calandra get her name?

May 15, 2010 at 7:29 am (Character, Death's Daughter, fantasy) (, , , , , , , , , , )


Okay, it was brought to my attention prior to publishing Death’s Daughter that Cassandra (my name) and Calandra (my protagonist’s name) are kind of similar.  There are two things I have in common with my protagonist. One – we both like boots. I have a serious liking for wearing boots and my protagonist is equally obsessed.  Two – our names start with the letter C and have a similar number of syllables.

Possibly people who know me will point out a few other similarities but as far as I’m concerned, those two points are it.  I love Calandra as a character, particularly as she grows throughout the story, but I don’t know that I would ever want to be compared to being too much like her.

So, how did Calandra Delaine end up with such a name?

I remember reading a book as a child where one of the characters were called Callie. I always thought it was a great name. When I started writing the story I decided I’d like for another character in the story to call the protagonist Callie in an affectionate way and then I had to find a full name that could conceivably be shortened to Callie (It seemed like a good idea at the time). I pulled out a dictionary of names and narrowed it down fairly quickly.  Here are some of the easily rejected names:

  • Calanthe
  • Calliope
  • Callista

As you can see, not a lot of choice. Besides, I read the name Calandra and I just knew. I had found the name my character needed. If I ever had second thoughts about it, Calandra would be sure to point out to me that she knows her own name and that she would not stand for me arbitrarily changing it on her.

cover art

6 Comments

  1. Little Scribbler said,

    Thanks for sharing! I always find it interesting to hear the stories behind character names.

  2. laurelrainsnow said,

    Cool…that gave me an idea for a post on one of my blogs!

  3. AlexJ said,

    Always interestinig how names come about.

  4. catwoods said,

    I like the evolution of her name. I also adore unique names. Maybe because mine is so blase that I would have given all five wisdom teeth away just to have a better name growing up!

    I refuse to put my MC’s through such a traumatic experience.

  5. Sonya Clark said,

    I think “Calandra” is a great character name, unique and lovely.

    I’ve found some great names by looking through genealogy websites that had old census records. Like, from England in the 1700s. Found some really neat names that way.

Comments are closed.

