My Favourite Female Protagonist

May 20, 2010 at 8:50 am (Character, Thoughts on Writing) (, , , , , , , )


Following on from yesterday, where I sent out the call for bloggers to tell us about their favourite female protagonist, today I am sharing mine.

I went through all of my fantasy and looked longingly at old favourites and yet I knew right from the beginning who I was going to pick as my favourite.

The winner is:  Nest from the Knight of the Word Trilogy by Terry Brooks.

Nest is such an interesting protagonist. She isn’t little miss confident and she doesn’t run straight over every other character. She is quiet and thinks things through. She’s afraid and yet determined. As the series goes on she progresses from a child looking for guidance to a woman who is ready to create her own path.  Nest is definitely my favourite protagonist and she owes it to the strong character development that takes place throughout the series.

Favourite Nest moment:  Has to come from book two, when Nest is really transitioning from girl to woman and she meets with John Ross for the first time since she was a child.  The subtle shift in their relationship is so beautifully constructed.

Close runner up, Tori Alexander, just couldn’t match the development because Tori started her trilogy already fairly confident and determined and didn’t undergo as much change.  Jill from Katherine Kerr’s Deverry series is always great fun but her transition isn’t as smooth or as logical at times. I could have picked Calandra but I think I’m biased on that one.

If you haven’t added your link yet – visit yesterday’s post and add your blog.  Can’t wait to find out who your favourite female protagonist is and why.

14 Comments

  1. Katelyn said,

    I’ve not read the Knight of the Word books, but Nest sounds like a really compelling character — and I love her name! Odd, unique character names are one of my favorite writerly delights.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      As long as you can figure out how to pronounce them. It kind of disconnects you from the story if you don’t know how to say the character’s name.

  2. Mason Canyon said,

    I’m not familiar with this protagonist or the books, but they do sound interesting. I’ll have to check on them. Always enjoy finding new books and fun characters.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      One of my favourite series by Terry Brooks, and he does a lot of good books.

  3. lbdiamond said,

    Great post! I have so many favorites, it’s hard to decide!!!!!

  4. Jemi Fraser said,

    I like Terry Brooks’ stuff, but I haven’t read this one yet. I’ll have to pick it up. 🙂

  5. Carol Kilgore said,

    Nest sounds like a great protagonist.. Sorry I missed yesterday’s post. But I’m not sure who I would’ve chosen.

  6. Lee R said,

    Okay I wrote one. 🙂 Will add to your links.

  7. Helen Ginger said,

    I’ve not read Knight of the Word Trilogy, but they sound not only like a good read, but an informative read for writers.

    Helen
    Straight From Hel

  8. Sunday Spotlight (*Special Edition*) « The Black Sheep said,

    […] Jade wants to know: do you have a Favourite Female Protagonist? And if so, why? I can’t decide between Mary Russell and Scarlett O’Hara, personally. […]

  9. Sunday Spotlight (*Special Edition*) « The Black Sheep said,

    […] Jade wants to know: do you have a Favourite Female Protagonist? And if so, why? I can’t decide between Mary Russell and Scarlett O’Hara, personally. […]

  10. What name suits my character? | Custom made suit said,

    […] My Favourite Female Protagonist « Cassandra Jade in the Realm […]

Comments are closed.

