They’re Dropping Like Flies

June 23, 2010 at 7:15 am (Character) (, , , )


Actually this is true literally as well as metaphorically. They recently sprayed the flies at work (fortunately over a weekend so I didn’t have to deal with the smell).ย  The flies did die and for two days there were none in the room and then new ones invaded. Now we’re waging a war with them and hitting them with various books and rules and whatever else is handy and I am sad to say we’re losing. The flies just keep coming.

The title of the post was actually talking about people I know. Everyone is getting sick or tired or both. I didn’t post yesterday because of absolute and complete exhaustion. I know that if I were to go to any group of teachers in the state at the moment they would be equally exhausted and there would be a high number falling ill. It’s the end of term.

We’ve all worked ourselves ragged over the last few weeks trying to meet deadlines for this term while trying to prepare for next and now that the final report has been written our bodies are telling us, enough is enough.

It is interesting that this phenomenon of people in similar professions getting sick at the same time is fairly common.ย  The stresses of various jobs really have a solid impact on people.

Could I use this in a story? Coud it add depth to a character or group of characters? Possibly but I’m too tired right now to try and find the link.

What I am going to do is catch up on reading a few blogs and then I’m going to crash on the couch for a few hours because tomorrow I have to get up and be and entertaining, energetic and enthused and I need to keep that up for three more days. Or at least keep up a very good pretense.

17 Comments

  1. Little Scribbler said,

    You’ve given me a lot to think about. Even though all my characters have been through a lot in my WIP, only the main character is exhausted, and she’s getting sleep.

    Yay for end of term!

  2. Brown Eyed Mystic said,

    Gee Cassandra. You caught me at the right nerve.

    I am sorta exhausted too–this writing project seems like never-ending and I have been trying to wreck myself out for this piece, but it’s sooo darn long. I have like 2 weeks (now 10ish days) and I am making my sweet partner sit with me and research in the evenings once he’s back from the day job, but it looks like a peanut-sized achievement by the day’s end. This is so…uggghhhrrrr. I beam, still ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for sharing–gave me a chance to share, too.

    -BrownEyed

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Wishing you the best of luck and good sleep once you are done.

  3. Smander said,

    *Cough*
    *Sniffle*
    I hear ya! Looking forward to the end of term and a bit of time for some R and R. Keep going, there is only so much marking, report writing, parent interviews or planning one person can do! There is light at the end of the tunnel!

    Also, I think using this in a story is a great idea. I am also too exhausted to give it much thought.

    Susie

  4. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Ugh! Sounds like a plague!

    Good luck resting up, Cassandra. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Yvonne Osborne said,

    The flies have become immune to your puny efforts, just like the weeds in the roundup-ready field, mutated, genetically altered, dangerous.

    You teachers hold our future in your weary hands.

  6. Mason Canyon said,

    Sounds like you do need a break. Enjoy your short rest and best of luck on the next three days. When it’s over and you have a chance to catch your breath, you will find the link you mentioned and add it to a story somewhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  7. Stephen Tremp said,

    Sleep is good. I love sleep. Its one of the great pleasures of life. I use exhaustion as a way to develop conflict with characters. Its just one more barrier they need to overcome in order to beat the bad guy or stop something from being blown up.

    Stephen Tremp

  8. Lynn Rush said,

    Funny how all run ourselves down, isn’t it? I’m right there with ya. I need a recharge and I’m thinking it might be this weekend. Lots of sleep. A long, slow bike ride, and tons of writing. Rest up, my friend.

  9. Arlee Bird said,

    Today is my wife’s last day of the school year and she’s very happy about that.

    Job stress, lack of sleep, and overwork can lead to poor judgement which can create problems for chararcters. Likewise, it can be a source of drive that gives a character the impetus needed to do what they need to get done.

    Fortunately there are not usually many flies where I live.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      The flies here really are ridiculous. It’s winter and they should be dead but they just keep swarming. Painful creatures.

  10. Carol Kilgore said,

    I’m tired just reading this. Enjoy your holiday. Should be only two more days left for you by the time you read this. I think.

  11. Michelle Gregory said,

    get some rest so you don’t drop like a fly.

  12. AlexJ said,

    A night to just chill is okay. And maybe you could use the work sickness in a book. Have to be horror of course!

  13. Casey Lybrand said,

    I hope you can get some rest soon! Good luck with the end of term efforts!

    I used to crash at the end of the semester in college — I basically slept through the winter break with a terrible cold, and again through the first couple of weeks of summer.

    I like this:

    “Could I use this in a story? Coud it add depth to a character or group of characters? Possibly but Iโ€™m too tired right now to try and find the link.”

    I hope you work out the link when you are better rested!

  14. catwoods said,

    I hope you get some much needed rest and feel refreshed soon. I think the idea has merit in a story on many levels. It just depends on what genre you want to write it in.

  15. jannatwrites said,

    It’s good to take time off once in a while to recharge. I hope you get the rest you need!

Comments are closed.

