10 Ways to Know You Are Obsessed With Writing

June 26, 2010 at 5:40 am (Replay, Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


I’m on holidays at the moment but I’m reposting some of the more popular posts from my old blog, Darkened Jade. If you leave a comment I’ll be sure to catch up with you when I get back.

Today I would just like to share a list of ten things that indicate you’ve become obsessed by writing (not saying obsession is a bad thing):

1. You start re-reading every sentence that you write and then start re-writing every sentence, convinced that you are ‘improving’ them. I know when it’s time to stop when I have just written the same sentence ten times and I no longer even believe it to be written in English.

2. Your partner/best friend/child sends you an instant message asking if you will be eating breakfast/lunch/dinner.

3. You start arguing with your characters out loud: “No, you fool. You have to go…”

4. You have any kind of repetitive strain problem (wrist, arm, finger, neck, eyes).

5. You get home from your day job and your computer is turned on before you have put your bag down, taken your shoes off, fed your pets, or spoken to your children.

6. When you have told your friend/partner/child you will be ready to leave just after finishing one more sentence you write another couple of pages and forget you were meant to be finishing until they unplug the computer at the wall.

7. In your bag you have at least three notebooks and five pens, as well as a pencil in case all of you pens cease working on the same day.

8. Every single thing you read or watch is critiqued in terms of character, plot and setting.

9. When you meet someone for the first time you repeat their name, not to help you remember them but so that you can someday use that name in a story.

10. In conversation you directly reference events and characters you have been writing about (even though nobody else has read it yet).

Add your ‘you know you are obsessed with writing when…’

And here’s the link if you haven’t yet checked out the blurb or excerpt for Death’s Daughter.

17 Comments

  1. RBH said,

    I am 2, 4-10! I would be 3 but I have complete god-like control over my characters. If they refuse to do as told, I can be very vindictive.

    The one I would like to add:

    You know you are obsessed with writing when you stay up all night because you would rather write than sleep… every night.

    This is actually a bad habit of mine. Most of my family and friends know they can call and talk to me at 2am because I’m always awake. I only sleep when I’m too tired to write anymore.

  2. Alex Willging said,

    I can totally identify with No. 1, 4-6, 8, and 10. The first one just had me laughing because I’m very much obsessed about getting sentences “just right.”

    I would add to the list:

    You know you are obsessed with writing because you frequently stop whatever you’re doing and start running over ideas in your head, and are constantly writing down ideas for stories, plots, and characters for future use.

  3. Agatha82 said,

    How true is this, I can relate to most of them, especially No.5 – First thing I do when I get home from work is put my computer on. I’ve sat in front of my computer until my eyes and neck are killing me…dreadful really, I’m trying to be a bit nicer to myself as I don’t write anything decent when that exhausted.

  4. writerleerobertson said,

    Ha, funny. I’m certainly guilty of 7 and 8.

  5. AlexJ said,

    Number one is so true!

  6. chris behrens said,

    Your obsessed with writing when you wake up at 4 a.m. in the middle of saying a sentence out loud, turn on your computer, change the word, go back to sleep, wake up 3 hrs. later and cut the word that couldn’t wait to be changed. But wait, it gets better, you believe that by doing all that you have made progress!! Saved time because you would have done that very same thing later that day, this way you saved time by doing it in your sleep-so see-your ahead of the game now. Yes, I do that, and yes, I’m totally obsessed, but I love every second of it and never want it to end!

  7. Rachel Rueben said,

    You know you’re obsessed with writing when you’re sad at the end because you’ll actually miss hanging out with the characters!

  8. Glynis Smy said,

    OH NO!
    I am every number on your list. It has happened, I have caught the fever. 🙂

    Happy Scribbling

  9. Melissa said,

    Is it sad that I am “guilty” of all the things on the list? haha. I really do have conversations out loud with my characters. Sometimes, these turn into arguments, but I’ve come to realize my characters are always right.

  10. Miss Rosemary said,

    Yep. I’m afflicted.

  11. 10 Ways to Know You Are Obsessed With Writing (via Cassandra Jade in the Realm) « Miss Rosemary's Novel Ideas said,

    […] I'm on holidays at the moment but I'm reposting some of the more popular posts from my old blog, Darkened Jade. If you leave a comment I'll be sure to catch up with you when I get back. Today I would just like to share a list of ten things that indicate you've become obsessed by writing (not saying obsession is a bad thing): 1. You start re-reading every sentence that you write and then start re-writing every sentence, convinced that you are 'imp … Read More […]

  12. writinginatree said,

    I’m 7-9 all the way! I was talking to a friend about one of my characters and it took her an hour to realize that the character I was telling antedotes about wasn’t real!

    nice blog

  13. brownpaperbaggirl said,

    When the first thing to do in the morning after you scramble out of bed is head to your laptop, turn it on, and open up your current writing project.

    Loved the list! It had me laughing…they are all so true!

  14. milkfever said,

    Yep, I ticked a few too many of those.
    Great post.

  15. Lua said,

    OMG how true are #5 & 8!! This list scares me…
    Hi- my name is Lua and I’m obsessed with writing ! 🙂

  16. Writer Roll – Writing Backward, Tasting Stories, and Tricking Your Kids « Leith Literary said,

    […] Cassandra Jade tackles the inevitability of continuity errors, and lists 10 ways to know you are obsessed with writing. My favorite? Number 8. What is Number 8, you ask? Click the link to find […]

  17. unabridgedgirl said,

    Hahahha, I soooo argue with my characters all the time.

Comments are closed.

