Back

July 10, 2010 at 10:11 pm (Author Info) (, , , , , )


Back from holidays and ready to jump back into work.

Paris and London were amazing and I had a fantastic time running around and seeing everything. I will be putting the pictures up on facebook soonish. What I loved most was how many ideas I came up with while I was travelling. I felt very much re-energised and focused toward writing.

Given I have a few things I need to do very quickly and I have a couple of things to deal with I’m probably only going to post a couple of times this week but I will be back to regular blogging next week and I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone. I really appreciated the comments you all left me while I was away.

Here I am in London, checking out the London Eye.

Incidentally, while I was away I was thinking about my current WIP and I realised what I dislike about it is the narration. So I am backtracking and going from third person back to first but for some reason have decided it is one of my male characters who will make the most interesting narrator for the story. This may all end in tears yet but once I get settled I am going to be rewriting the story from the beginning and seeing where this change takes me.

26 Comments

  1. laurelrainsnow said,

    I like how ideas come to us in very unexpected places…I’ve been musing about my current WIP, but nothing pops into my head. But in the shower, or driving around on errands—that’s probably where I’ll figure it out.

    I don’t know if you live in the states or in Europe (haven’t read your about page yet, but I’m going there next!), but a trip to London would be awesome under any circumstances, IMO.

  2. Agatha82 said,

    Glad to hear you had a good time in my beloved city of London (prefer it to Paris, then again, I’m rather biased ha ha) I’ve never been on the London Eye because I’m afraid of heights. I’d be too busy freaking out to enjoy the view…

    About changing the narrator, it can definitely work. My WIP originally started as a first person narration by the female character. Now it’s third person, mostly from the view of my male character who is very charismatic, so much so, he’s been given the narrator job for the sequel which I plan to have in first person.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I actually didn’t go on the eye but I did watch it go around as friends and family took a spin. Something about ferris wheels I just don’t trust.

      • Agatha82 said,

        Yep…me neither! *shivers*

  3. Little Scribbler said,

    I’m glad you’re back, and I hope you had fun!

  4. Mason Canyon said,

    Glad you have a great time and made it home safe and sound. Look forward to seeing your photos.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress

  5. Carol J. Garvin said,

    Welcome back! It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday. Just hearing the words London and Paris makes it sound wonderful! I rarely travel anywhere unless it’s within Canada with our RV.

    I changed POV and tense when I rewrote a recent novel. Now I think the story feels more intimate and immediate in first person. It isn’t right for every story, but sometimes it just makes everything click. Hope it works for you.

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      I think first person will work better for this story because I keep wanting to add little comments and asides that just don’t work for a neutral narrator. Oh well, back to square one.

  6. Lua said,

    Welcome back Cassandra! 🙂 I’m glad you had a wonderful time, the picture looks amazing.
    Whenever I do some traveling, I get many ideas for new stories, or ideas to improve the ones I’m working on…
    Can’t wait to read your new posts!

  7. Corra McFeydon said,

    Welcome back!! One day I aim to see Paris and London. 🙂

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

  8. Lynn Rush said,

    I’m in Hastings, England right now. Just returned from Paris yesterday and am off to London tomorrow. Looks like we missed one another by a few days. Hope you had fun.

  9. Elizabeth Spann Craig said,

    Welcome back, Cassandra! Glad you had a happy trip. 🙂

  10. Jemi Fraser said,

    So glad you had a wonderful time! What a great trip 🙂

    It’s fun when you have those light-bulb moments with the story – hope it all works out! 🙂

  11. AlexJ said,

    Glad you are back and the trip refreshed you!
    Did you ride the London Eye?

  12. Casey Lybrand said,

    Re-energizing travel is the best kind. I’m glad you had fun in Paris and London. I find just going out and about at all is somewhat inspiring — and it’s more intense the farther from home you travel. (I haven’t traveled as far as you have with this trip since I started writing seriously — it must be amazing.) I like the photo. You look so happy and relaxed.

    Interesting about your WIP and the narration. I am toying with the idea of first person for my WIP. It’s currently in third, but I wrote one first-draft scene in first, and I think it just may work. I am looking forward to hearing about your rewrite. (With hopefully no tears.) I’m so glad you’re back.

  13. Alex Willging said,

    Welcome back! Good luck with the WIP! I’m sure it’ll come out fine.

  14. Smander said,

    Welcome back! It sounds like you are making some major changed to your work in progress. This is reassuring as I have changed mine to the first person, back to the thurd then back to the way it was. I thought I was a bit odd so I’m glad I’m not alone!

  15. Barb said,

    Welcome back, Cassandra! You went to my favorite European towns, the ones I try to visit every year, but missed this year (Paris was not scheduled, London skipped because of the Icelandic volcano…)… Next time you head to Europe we should set up a meeting in any of those! 😉

    • Cassandra Jade said,

      Next trip is Japan I think. Maybe. I have far too many places on my must see list at the moment and I’m hoping to start breaking them down.

      • Barb said,

        Japan is on my “to visit” list too… but haven’t decided a year yet! 😦 Australia is for next year, India… who knows, just like Japan! But I’ll get to Asia one day! 😉

  16. Lee R said,

    Wow that’s a big change. I like first-person though because it’s so intimate.

    Hope you had a great time in Paris. I’m going there myself in August. Yippee.

  17. Glynis Smy said,

    Welcome back. Glad you gained inspiration from your trip. Happy Scribbling!

  18. Carol Kilgore said,

    Looking forward to hearing all about your trip. From your comments, I’m wondering if we’re writing the same story. I’ve been having similar thoughts.

  19. Southpaw said,

    Welcome back. I enjoyed reading your older posts reposted.

  20. catwoods said,

    welcome back.

  21. Miss Rosemary said,

    Welcome home! I’m headed to London for a semester on September first and can’t wait to get back there 🙂

Comments are closed.

